The Trustees

LEDLET is run by eight volunteer Trustees drawn from the diverse membership of the Association of London Welsh Lawyers. By design, we aim to represent all branches of the legal profession on its executive committee, including both senior and junior barristers and solicitors, a lawyer working in Parliament, a legal executive, and a member of the judiciary.


LEDLET benefits from the guidance of its Patron, Lord Morris of Aberavon, and Vice-Patron, the Presiding Judge on the Wales Circuit, Mr Justice Griffith-Williams. LEDLET is also fortunate to have the kind support of both the present Justice of the Supreme Court, Lord Lloyd Jones, and the immediate past Lord Chief Justice, Lord Judge.


Elizabeth Hicks  (Chairwoman) is a family lawyer. Elizabeth graduated from University of Wales College Cardiff. Elizabeth is a Fellow of the International Academy of Family Lawyers and an active member of Resolution. Elizabeth remains committed to her Welsh roots and is a passionate Welsh rugby fan.


Gerwyn Samuel is a barrister practising from Doughty Street Chambers in London. Gerwyn specialises in clinical negligence and personal injury claims on behalf of Claimants, and is a member of Gray's Inn.

Thomas Jones (Treasurer) is from Caerphilly. He studied Law at Cardiff University and European Law at the College of Europe, before working as an intern at the European Court of Justice. He now practises as a barrister from 9 Gough Square, and is a member of Gray's Inn.

David Owen-Jones is a Judge who was called to the Bar, Inner Temple, 1972, Lincoln’s Inn ad eundem, 1986; a Recorder, 2001–11. Mem., Lord Chancellor’s Adv. Cttee on Appointment of JPs for Inner London, 1984–90. Vice Chm., Assoc. of Liberal Lawyers, 1986–94. Gov., Internat. Students House, 1995–2010 (Trustee, 1981). Legal Advr to Hon. Soc. of Cymmrodorion, 2006– (Fellow, 2010). Contested (Lib): Carmarthen, Feb. and Oct. 1974; Rugby and Kenilworth, 1983, 1987. FRSA 1984.


Rhys Meggy is a barrister practising from QEB Hollis Whiteman Chambers in London, specialising in white-collar crime, general crime and professional regulation. Rhys is a Welsh-speaker.

Julie Wall (Secretary) is a Parliamentary Assistant based in London. Julie studied law at the University of Hertfordshire where she obtained a First Class Honours degree. Julie was Called to the Bar of Middle Temple in 2011.

David Owen is a Director in the litigation team at Barclays Bank Plc. David spent 12 years in the Dispute Resolution team at Nabarro LLP undertaking a wide range of commercial litigation matters. David studied Biology at Leicester University before converting to law at Nottingham Law School.

Angharad Vaughan is a solicitor at Leigh Day. Angharad studied Law and French at Bristol University and gained a Diploma in French legal studies from the University of Poitiers. Angharad specialises in clinical negligence litigation on behalf of claimants.


Our associates support the trustees and help out with the running of the schemes:

Alun Price, trustee from 2013 - 2018, is now our ambassador in Wales; he is an Associate Director at West Wales firm Morgan La Roche specialising in commercial property transactions and renewable energy projects. Alun trained and was an associate for seven years in the London office of Norton Rose Fulbright before returning to Carmarthenshire where he grew up. Alun is a Welsh speaker.

Craig Howell Williams QC is a barrister at Francis Taylor Building, London, specialising in planning and environment law. Junior Counsel to the Crown B Panel (1993-1999); Chairman of the London Luton Airport Consultative Committee (S35 CAA 1982) (1999-2002); CEDR Accredited Mediator (2005); Trustee of Planning Aid for London (Registered Charity) (2007-2012); Lead Assistant Commissioner to the Boundary Commission for England (2012-2013); The DCLG's Planning Mediation Services Panel (2012-2015); RICS President's Mediation Panel (2010-); member of the Association of London Welsh Lawyers (2011-); member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (2012-); RICS Accredited Evaluative Mediator (2017); Panel of approved counsel for the National Procurement Service for Wales (2017).

Dan Morris is a Partner at Bevan Brittan LLP based in the firm's London office, where he specialises in clinical risk litigation, digital health and health tech law. He completed his undergraduate degree at Swansea University, before pursuing postgraduate degrees at King's College London and the University of Liverpool from where he gained a PhD. He acts for large public and private healthcare providers and works closely with NHS Resolution and a number of NHS Hospital Trusts in London and the South East. Dan grew up and was schooled in Neath, South Wales.

Gethin Thomas is a barrister practising from 39 Essex Chambers in London. Before joining the bar, he studied law at the University of Oxford, and then worked on law reform projects as a research assistant at the Law Commission. Gethin is a member of Gray's Inn. Gethin grew up in Caerphilly, and attended a state comprehensive school in Pontypridd.

President, Lord Lloyd-Jones

The Right Hon Lord Lloyd-Jones became President of LEDLET in January 2019 having already been a supporter of LEDLET in the past, including showing our students around the Supreme Court during our summer scheme week.

The Right Hon Lord Lloyd-Jones is a justice of the Supreme Court. He became a Justice of The Supreme Court in October 2017. Lord Lloyd-Jones was born and brought up in Pontypridd, Glamorgan where his father was a schoolteacher. He attended Pontypridd Boys' Grammar School and Downing College, Cambridge. He was a Fellow of Downing College from 1975 to 1991. At the Bar his practice included international law, EU law and public law. He was amicus curiae (independent advisor to the court) in the Pinochet litigation before the House of Lords.

A Welsh speaker, Lord Lloyd-Jones was appointed to the High Court in 2005. From 2008 to 2011 he served as a Presiding Judge on the Wales Circuit and Chair of the Lord Chancellor's Standing Committee on the Welsh Language. In 2012 he was appointed a Lord Justice of Appeal and from 2012 to 2015 he was Chairman of the Law Commission.

Lord Lloyd-Jones is the first Justice of The Supreme Court to come from Wales.

Vice-President, Lord Thomas

The Right Honourable the Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd was Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales from 2013 to 2017.


He studied law at the Universities of Cambridge and Chicago and practiced as a barrister from 1972 to 1996, becoming a Queen’s Counsel in 1984. He was appointed a Judge of the High Court of England and Wales in 1996, becoming Judge in Charge of the Commercial Court from April 2002 to July 2003, when he was appointed as a Lord Justice of Appeal.


He was the Senior Presiding Judge for England and Wales from 2003 to 2006. From 2008 to October 2011 he was Vice-President of the Queen’s Bench Division and then President of the Queen’s Bench Division from October 2011 to October 2013. He was President of the European Network of Councils for the Judiciary from May 2008 to December 2010.

  • Grey Twitter Icon

LEDLET is working with Legal Wales to inspire young Welsh people to 'Aim High'.

LEDLET is associated with Gray's Inn and the Association of London Welsh Lawyers.

Privacy Notice: please click here to read our privacy notice.

Registered Charity Number: 1168785

Copyright: 2013 - 2020 Lord Edmund-Davies Legal Education Trust 

     Legal Wales 

Cymru'r Gyfraith